Kerala polls: Congress will announce candidates on Sunday, says ex-CM

Kerala polls: Congress will announce candidates on Sunday, says ex-CM

Congress chief and former Kerala chief minister Oommen Chandy on Saturday mentioned that the get together will announce its listing of candidates for Kerala Meeting polls on Sunday.

“Congress will announce its listing of candidates tomorrow in Delhi. You all have to attend to know who would be the candidate within the Nemom constituency,” mentioned Chandy.

When requested if he can be contesting from Nemom constituency, he mentioned, “Wait to know who would be the candidate within the Nemom constituency.”

Nemom is likely one of the ten seats out of 91 that Congress is but to decide on a candidate.

The Congress get together on Friday introduced that 81 candidates have been finalised, out of the 91 seats it is going to be contesting in Kerala. Nevertheless, it didn’t announce the names of those candidates.

“There are not any disputes within the ten seats, candidates are but to be determined by the get together,” mentioned Oommen Chandy.

Nemom, a suburb within the state capital is turning into a focus of the Kerala meeting polls, with all three fronts betting large for a victory on the lone seat that the BJP managed to win within the 2016 meeting polls.

The BJP leaders had referred to Nemom because the ‘Gujarat of Kerala” and to upset the apple cart of BJP, Congress is taking part in its playing cards near the chest.

CPI(M) has determined to go forward with V Shivankutty who additionally began his marketing campaign within the constituency beating each his Congress and BJP rivals.

The Nemom constituency was gained by BJP veteran O Rajagopal in 2016, garnering 67,813 votes in opposition to CPI(M) candidate V Shivankutty, who managed to get 59,142 votes.

Whereas Congress-led United Democratic Alliance (UDF) completed in a distant third with simply 13,860 votes secured by the JD(S) candidate V Surendran Pillai.

Even because the listing of Congress candidates getting delayed, the primary constituent companions within the Congress-led UDF, the Indian Union Muslim League ( IUML) introduced its candidates on Friday.

Whereas the Muslim League will contest on 27 seats, Kerala Congress, the splinter group headed by PJ Joseph having prominence within the Christian-dominated Kottayam-Idukki belt can be contesting on 10 seats.

5 seats have been given to the Revolutionary Socialist Get together ( RSP) of which Shibu Child John can be contesting from Chavara.

The election for 140-member Kerala Meeting in 14 districts can be held in a single part on April 6. The counting of votes can be held on Might 2.

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *