In 2nd record, AIADMK banks on incumbents

In 2nd record, AIADMK banks on incumbents

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam on Wednesday launched its second record of 171 candidates for the April 6 meeting elections within the state and recognized the constituencies to be contested by its allies, the Pattali Makkal Katchi (23 constituencies) and Bharatiya Janata Get together (20).

Actor-politician Kamal Haasan’s Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) and TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) additionally launched their first lists on Wednesday.

The AIADMK earlier introduced six candidates, together with chief minister Edappadi Palaniswami and deputy chief minister O Panneerselvam, taking the overall variety of seats it’ll contest to 177. The get together put aside the remaining seats — there are 234 in all — for smaller events in its coalition.

The get together has retained most of its ministers MLAs, together with veterans and distinguished ones reminiscent of JCD Prabakar from Villivakkam, former mayor Saidai Duraisamy from Saidapet, S Gokula Indira from Anna Nagar, BA Valarmathi from Alandur, and former DGP R Nataraj from Mylapore .

A number of ministers together with municipal administration minister SP Velumani from Thondamuthur, well being minister C Vijayabaskar from Viralimalai, Tamil tradition minister Okay Pandiarajan from Avadi, faculty schooling minister Okay A Sengottaiyan from Gobichttipalayam and social welfare minister V Saroja are searching for re-election.

Two Rajya Sabha MPs, KP Munusamy and R Vaithilingam, have additionally been fielded from Vepanahali and Orathanadu, repectively.

The get together has allotted 23 constituencies to PMK and 20 constituencies to the BJP.

Later within the day, PMK launched a listing of 10 candidates through which a distinguished face is the get together president G Okay Mani who will contest from his stronghold of Pennagaram constituency within the western district of Dharmapuri.

The BJP will contest from city constituencies reminiscent of Harbour and Thousand Lights in Chennai, that are strongholds of the principle opposition get together within the state, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK).

The BJP will even discipline its candidates in Coimbatore South and Madurai North constituencies.

Supporters of AIADMK MLA Amman Okay Arjunan, who has been shifted to Coimbatore North, protested exterior the get together workplace within the district towards the choice earlier than the announcement was made.

Amid hypothesis that the BJP will discipline actor-turned-politician S Khushboo from Chennai’s Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni constituency, the AIADMK allotted the seat to PMK.

PMK has been allotted most seats within the northern belt of Tamil Nadu and some western districts, each dominated by the get together’s core vote financial institution, the Vanniyar group.

In the meantime, Haasan’s MNM launched its first record of 71 candidates on Wednesday. Key names contesting in Chennai embrace late former President Abdul Kalam’s scientific advisor V Ponraj from Anna Nagar, former bureaucrat Santosh Babu from Villivakkam, atmosphere activist Padmapriya from Maduravoyal and social employee Sneha Mohandoss from Saidapet.

In its first record, AMMK named 15 candidates for the meeting elections. The get together entered an alliance with Viduthalai Tamil Puligai Katchi on Wednesday and allotted one seat to them.

Thus far, there are just a few girls candidates — AIADMK has fielded 14 girls out of its 177 candidates and Haasan’s get together has eight girls out of 71 candidates.

The DMK has additionally recognized constituencies for its allies Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) led by Vaiko and the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML). MDMK will contest below the DMK’s image from six constituencies, two of that are reserved. IUML will contest from three below their very own image.

“The constructive aspect within the AIADMK record is that they’ve fielded heavyweights who know the constituency out and in however the flip aspect is once they’re dealing with 10-years of anti-incumbency, familiarity can breed contempt,” says political commentator Maalan Narayanan. “Palaniswami has clinched the deal in his favour by containing the BJP which was demanding extra seats from the western belt however since that’s the AIADMK’s citadel they’ve given the BJP solely two seats within the west. AIADMK has additionally ensured its ally’s PMK’s victory by giving them vanniyar dominated areas. AIADMK hasn’t interfered within the southern districts which I count on might be a direct contest between the BJP and Congress.”

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *