DMK strikes seat-sharing take care of Congress, allots 25 seats to ally for Tamil Nadu polls

DMK strikes seat-sharing take care of Congress, allots 25 seats to ally for Tamil Nadu polls

The tie-up comes simply earlier than the grand rally that the DMK has deliberate on Sunday. Congress chief in-charge of Tamil Nadu, Dinesh Gundu Rao, expressed confidence that the DMK-led alliance will sweep the election.

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) on Sunday formalised the settlement with ally Congress for Tamil Nadu Meeting election 2021. The DMK allotted 25 meeting seats to Congress and the Lok Sabha bypoll seat in Kanyakumari, which fell vacant after the demise of Congress MP H Vasanthakumar who handed away resulting from Covid-19 final 12 months.

An settlement was signed between DMK chief MK Stalin and Tamil Nadu Congress Committee (TNCC) chief KS Alagiri on Sunday morning.

“We’ve signed a seat-sharing settlement with DMK. Congress will contest in 25 meeting seats and within the byelection to the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat,” Alagiri informed reporters in Chennai.

Congress chief in-charge of Tamil Nadu, Puducheryy and Goa, Dinesh Gundu Rao and Alagiri met Stalin on Saturday. The assembly went on until late on Saturday evening throughout which the formal seat-sharing settlement was reached.

“Congress, DMK, Left, VCK will sweep these elections,” Dinesh Gundu Rao mentioned after Sunday’s assembly.

The seat-sharing association was finalised simply forward of the DMK’s grand rally scheduled for right this moment. Stalin will launch the social gathering’s 10-year imaginative and prescient doc on the rally.

Earlier on Saturday, the DMK hammered out seat-sharing association with its different allies too, most notably the Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or MDMK. Its chief Vaiko signed the settlement with Stalin on Saturday.

That is the primary time the MDMK will contest the Tamil Nadu Meeting election along with the DMK because it was based in 1994 after Vaiko was ousted from the then M Karunanidhi-led DMK.

“MDMK has joined arms with DMK. The talks went nicely. DMK president MK Stalin has signed an settlement during which six Meeting constituencies have been allotted to MDMK,” Vaiko informed reporters on Saturday.

The polls to elect 234 new members of the Tamil Nadu meeting can be held in a single part on April 6 and the counting of votes can be accomplished on Might 2.

Ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is contesting the polls in a pre-poll alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Get together (BJP). Actor-turned-politician Kamal Hassan’s social gathering Makkal Neethi Maiam (MNM) can also be within the fray.


Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *