DMK releases first checklist, Stalin’s son enters fray

DMK releases first checklist, Stalin’s son enters fray

Chennai: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam president M Okay Stalin will search a 3rd time period from his Kolathur constituency within the April 6 meeting elections within the state whereas son Udhayanidhi Stalin will make his electoral debut from Chepauk-Tiruvalliken, because the get together seeks to return to energy after 10 years.

The DMK, which introduced candidates for 173 seats — the remaining 61 seats will probably be contested by its allies, together with the Congress — will tackle its rival, the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, which has ruled the state for the previous 10 years in direct contests in 122 constituencies.

Each events are with out iconic leaders who led them for many years. DMK patriarch and Stalin’s father M Karunanidhi died in 2018, and AIADMK’s J Jayalalithaa in late 2016. The DMK swept final yr’s Lok Sabha elections with the alliance it led profitable 38 of the 39 seats within the state.

Earlier this week, the AIADMK introduced a listing of 177 candidates. Each the key Dravidian events have prevented surprises of their candidate lists and have opted for examined and senior get together leaders.

Since most of the alliance companions together with the Vaiko-led MDMK will probably be contesting on the DMK’s Rising Solar image, the lead accomplice will probably be successfully within the fray in 187 seats, Stalin stated whereas releasing the candidate checklist.

Almost half of the 173 nominees are sitting MLAs together with senior lawmakers Durai Murugan, Okay N Nehru, Okay Ponmudi, MRK Panneerselvam, P Geetha Jeevan and Poongothai Aladi Aruna– all former ministers — and TRB Raja, Anitha Radhakrishnan, S R Raja, M Subramanian and R Sakkarapani.The DMK has 101 representatives within the outgoing meeting.

Udhayanidhi Stalin, a well-liked actor in and producer of Tamil movies, will combat from the Chepauk-Triplicane constituency, represented by the late J Anbazhagan who succumbed to Covid-19 final yr.

The large fights will probably be between DMK’s Senthil Balaji and transport minister M R Vijayabaskar in Karur. Senthil Balaji was additionally a transport minister within the AIADMK’s 2011 cupboard however converted to the V Okay Sasikala camp and was among the many 18 MLAs who have been disqualified for siding with TTV Dhinakaran in 2018 after which Balaji joined the DMK. Former strongman of the AIADMK, Thanga Tamilselvan who stop and joined TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) and later the DMK, has been given the ticket from Bodinayakanur to face-off in opposition to deputy chief minister O Panneerselvam. The elatively lesser identified T Sampathkumar will tackle the chief minister Edapaddi Okay. Palanaswami on his house turf, Edappadi. “He could also be an abnormal man however he has the potential to win,” Stalin stated.

Former mayors of Chennai, AIADMK’s Saidai Duraisamy and DMK’s Ma Subramanian will conflict in Saidapet (the latter is the incumbent). Surroundings activist and a pro-jallikattu crusader Karthikeya Senapathy, who joined the DMK in 2020 will go head-on with AIADMK heavyweight and minister for municipal administration SP Velumani in his stronghold of Thondamuthur constituency in Coimbatore.

In Trichy, from the place Stalin launched his ten-year imaginative and prescient for Tamil Nadu final week, get together principal secretary and Trichy West MLA Okay N Nehru has been fielded from the identical seat whereas one other third-generation get together chief and Udhaynidhi Stalin’s shut aide Anbil Mahesh Poyyamozhi will search re-election from Thiruverumbur constituency.

The get together has fielded solely 13 ladies. Stalin will file his nomination on March 15.

The DMK-led coalition will search to oust the BJP-AIADMK alliance and return to energy after a spot of a decade. BJP state vice-president and former minister within the AIADMK authorities Nainar Nagendran filed his nomination in Tirunelveli meeting section even earlier than BJP introduced its candidates. Nagendran instructed reporters that he did so as a result of it’s an auspicious day. The BJP has to this point recognized solely 20 meeting constituencies and is more likely to announce its candidates Saturday.

“Each DMK and AIADMK have relied on their stalwarts,” says political commentator Sriram Seshadri. “The one distinction of their checklist is that the DMK has fielded at the least a dozen kin of senior leaders which will probably be handy for the ruling alliance to assault them as working towards dynasty politics.”

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *