Dhinakaran’s AMMK allots 3 seats to Owaisi’s AIMIM for Tamil Nadu polls

Dhinakaran’s AMMK allots 3 seats to Owaisi’s AIMIM for Tamil Nadu polls

As introduced by Dhinakaran on Twitter, the AIMIM will contest from the southern state’s meeting constituencies of Vaniyambadi, Krishnagiri and Sankarapuram.

By hindustantimes.com | Written by Karan Manral, New Delhi

PUBLISHED ON MAR 08, 2021 07:59 PM IST

Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) chief TTV Dhinakaran on Monday introduced his occasion’s alliance with Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and allotted three seats for the upcoming meeting elections in Tamil Nadu. “Within the alliance led by the AMMK, Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM has been allotted three constituencies in Tamil Nadu, specifically Vaniyambadi, Krishnagiri and Sankarapuram,” Dhinakaran’s tweet, roughly translated from Tamil, learn.

Tamil Nadu has 234 meeting constituencies, all of which can go to polls on April 6. Counting of votes and declaration of outcomes will happen on Could 2.

Monday’s growth comes days after Dhinakaran’s aunt, the expelled All India Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) chief VK Sasikala, introduced her retirement from politics, leaving Dhinakaran and the AMMK to contest the elections on their very own. Sasikala, one of many closest allies of the late Tamil Nadu chief minister and AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa, was launched from jail final month after serving 4 years in a Bengaluru jail in reference to a corruption case. The AMMK is a breakaway faction of the AIADMK, shaped by Dhinakaran in March 2018.

Additionally Learn | Expelled AIADMK chief VK Sasikala points assertion to say she is quitting politics, prays Amma authorities is established

The AIADMK is at present led by Tamil Nadu chief minister Edappadi Okay Palaniswami and his deputy O Panneerselvam. The ruling occasion will contest the elections in an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Occasion (BJP), which has a authorities on the Centre. The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), which is the main opposition occasion, has, in the meantime, allotted 25 seats to the Congress. Whereas the AIADMK and DMK are regional heavyweights, the BJP and Congress are nationwide events.

Additionally Learn | DMK strikes seat-sharing cope with Congress, allots 25 seats to ally for Tamil Nadu polls

The Tamil Nadu meeting elections would be the first within the state after the loss of life of each Jayalalithaa and DMK stalwart M Karunanidhi, a former chief minister. Whereas Jayalalithaa handed away in December 2016, Karunanidhi died in August 2018. His son, MK Stalin, is the present president of the DMK.


Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *