Assam polls: Half of 40 candidates in Congress first checklist contemporary faces

Assam polls: Half of 40 candidates in Congress first checklist contemporary faces

Half of the 40 candidates whose names have been introduced within the Congress’ first checklist for Assam meeting elections are contemporary faces, whereas the social gathering will seek the advice of former chief minister Tarun Gogoi’s relations earlier than deciding on a nominee for Titabor seat which was held by him for 4 consecutive phrases earlier than his dying.

The grand previous social gathering late on Saturday evening launched the primary checklist of 40 candidates for the 47 constituencies which might be going to polls within the first part on March 27.

The checklist has the names of 20 new faces and 6 sitting MLAs together with Congress Legislature Occasion chief Debabrata Saikia in Nazira.

The BJP is eyeing the distinguished Titabor seat, which was held by the three-time chief minister who died as a consequence of post-Covid problems on November 23 final 12 months, whereas the Congress is looking for to retain it.

Other than Titabor, the names of candidates for Tinsukia, Dhakuakhana, Behali, Dhing and Bokakhat and AIUDF- held Naoboicha are but to be introduced.

A call concerning these seats might be taken quickly. A number of of those constituencies might be given to alliance companions, a Congress spokesperson stated.

Other than Saikia, legislators who have been renominated are former minister Rakibul Hussain in Samaguri, Md Nurul Huda in Rupohihat, Rupjyoti Kurmi in Mariani, Roselina Tirkey in Sarupathar and Durga Bhumij in Doomdooma.

Golaghat is witnessing attention-grabbing developments as former minister and sitting MLA Ajanta Neog stop Congress to contest the polls on a BJP ticket, whereas former AGP candidate Bitupan Saikia, who joined the BJP after being defeated by Neog within the 2016 elections by a slender margin of 5,213 votes, converted to the Congress and was given a celebration ticket.

State Congress chief and Rajya Sabha MP Ripun Bora will contest the Gohpur meeting seat the place his spouse Monica Bora was defeated by the BJP candidate by practically 30,000 votes.

The social gathering has additionally given tickets to 12 candidates, together with 4 girls, who had misplaced by slim margins within the 2016 meeting elections. This consists of Rana Goswami in Jorhat, Sushanta Borgohain in Thowra, Suruj Dehinga in Mahmara, Bhupen Kumar Borah in Bihpuria, Praneswar Basumatary in Sootea, Dhruba Gogoi in Duliajan and Etuwa Munda in Tingkhong.

In Majuli seat, the social gathering has renominated Ranoj Kumar Pegu who had represented it for 3 consecutive phrases since 2001 however was defeated by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal by over 18,000 votes within the 2016 elections.

The 4 girls who’ve been renominated by the social gathering from the identical constituencies that they’d misplaced within the final election are former ministers Pranatee Phukan in Naharkatiya, Bismita Gogoi in Khumtai, Pallabi Gogoi in Teok and Angkita Dutta in Amguri.

The lone new girl candidate within the first part of polling is Sibamoni Bora, who has been pitted towards actor- turned-sitting BJP MLA Angoorlata Deka in Batadroba constituency.

Moreover Bitupan Saikia in Golaghat, the social gathering has additionally fielded former BJP chief and Tezpur MP Ram Prasad Sarma, who lately joined the Congress, in Barchalla seat.

The social gathering’s different new candidates are in Dhekiajuli, Tezpur, Rangapara, Bishwanath, Kaliabor, Sonari, Sibsagar, Lakhimpur, Dhemaji, Jonai, Moran, Dibrugarh, Lahowal, Chabua, Digboi, Margherita and Sadiya seats.

The Congress is contesting the upcoming elections as part of ‘Grand Alliance’ with the AIUDF, BPF, CPI(M), CPI, CPI-ML and Anchalik Gana Morcha.

Elections to the 126-member meeting might be held in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6.

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *